Umbraco template keeps loading old version of contents in administration interface

March 12, 2015 at 10:54 AMMadestro

I am using Umbraco as the CMS for a project and came across a curious situation:

I noticed my changes to templates seemed not to be saved for some reason.

The Behavior

  1. I opened the template
  2. I modified its contents
  3. I hit save
  4. I got the message that the changes were saved successfully
  5. I could see the new version displayed on the published site
  6. I get back into the template to edit it, I get the old version instead of what I saved.

The Solution

Well, It turns out it's a caching issue. The contents are in fact saved which is why you see them on the site.

Don't ask me what Umbraco does with caching because I don't know and quite frankly I don't have the time to find out. Suffice it to say, cache is the issue.

To fix this:

  1. Log out of the Umbraco site
  2. Clear the cache
  3. Log back in

Chrome has a checkbox inside the settings of the development toolbar that allows you to "disable the cache" which is the same as deleting it for the current site.

Good luck!

Posted in: CMS

Tags: